Home
JAQForum Ver 20.06
Log In or Join  
Active Topics
Local Time 14:10 11 May 2024 Privacy Policy
Jump to

Notice. New forum software under development. It's going to miss a few functions and look a bit ugly for a while, but I'm working on it full time now as the old forum was too unstable. Couple days, all good. If you notice any issues, please contact me.

Forum Index : Microcontroller and PC projects : Error : [CYW43] do_ioctl(2, 263, 16): timeout

     Page 2 of 2    
Author Message
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 160
Posted: 07:47am 02 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Ahh, OK... thanks Gents. I presumed it was a timeout, but with no reference I didn't want to take it for granted.

  Quote  Something that I missed when checking the manuals


The manuals are top-notch anyway, SOMEthing, sometimes gets missed somewhere.
I was just curious, thinking maybe I'd missed a vital clue  

John
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 911
Posted: 07:44am 03 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I am aware that this lockup in the software is different to that being covered by this thread as it didn't show the error code. I am curious to see that the code recovered but the watchdog timer did not restart the program and the program dropped to a prompt after reconnecting.

ntp address 67.219.111.127
got ntp response: 03/05/2024 17:00:00
[133] WEB TCP CLIENT REQUEST Query, buff%()
Error : No connection
Error: Invalid address - resetting
PICOE66178758B3 connecting to WiFi...
Connected 192.168.1.115


Would this be the effect of the ON ERROR SKIP?

0A47
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5918
Posted: 10:00am 03 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  OA47 said  I am aware that this lockup in the software is different to that being covered by this thread as it didn't show the error code. I am curious to see that the code recovered but the watchdog timer did not restart the program and the program dropped to a prompt after reconnecting.

ntp address 67.219.111.127
got ntp response: 03/05/2024 17:00:00
[133] WEB TCP CLIENT REQUEST Query, buff%()
Error : No connection
Error: Invalid address - resetting
PICOE66178758B3 connecting to WiFi...
Connected 192.168.1.115


Would this be the effect of the ON ERROR SKIP?

0A47


Option Autorun ON ?
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 911
Posted: 10:02am 03 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Jim, Autorun on is back now.

0A47

EDIT
But!!!!
> option autorun on
> option list
WebMite MMBasic Version 5.08.00
OPTION SYSTEM SPI GP18,GP19,GP16
OPTION SYSTEM I2C GP26,GP27
OPTION AUTORUN  ON
OPTION LCDPANEL ILI9488, RLANDSCAPE,GP15,GP14,GP13,GP17
OPTION WIFI ???????, ?????? , PICOE66178758B3
OPTION TOUCH GP12,GP11
OPTION SDCARD GP22
OPTION AUDIO GP2,GP3', ON PWM CHANNEL 1
> run
[133] WEB TCP CLIENT REQUEST Query, buff%()
Error : No connection
>


Still locks at prompt after run. Will see what happens.

0A47
Edited 2024-05-03 22:14 by OA47
 
phil99

Guru

Joined: 11/02/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 1805
Posted: 11:37am 03 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I may have this wrong but I believe certain errors cause OPTION AUTORUN to be removed to prevent an infinite loop of crash - reboot - run - crash.

If you don't think that is going to be an issue apply OPTION AUTORUN OFF then add this to the top of the program:-

Sub MM.Startup : Run : End Sub


So far that has worked for me.

Edit.
  Quote  > run
[133] WEB TCP CLIENT REQUEST Query, buff%()
Error : No connection
>
Still locks at prompt


As far as I know that has always been the case. Not connecting at start-up causes a crash, WiFi needs to be available before booting.
Edited 2024-05-04 07:22 by phil99
 
OA47

Guru

Joined: 11/04/2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 911
Posted: 09:33pm 03 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Thanks Phil, that explains why the Option AUTORUN disappears.

0A47
 
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 160
Posted: 10:02pm 03 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I think this is related - from the manual...

  Quote  OPTION AUTORUN ON [,NORESET]
Specifying the optional parameter “NORESET” will maintain AUTORUN even if the program causes a system error
(by default this will cause the firmware to cancel any OPTION AUTORUN setting).


John
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5918
Posted: 02:22am 04 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

As far as I now, "Error : No connection" refers to the WEB OPEN connection, not WiFi.
WEB OPEN TCP CLIENT "xxxx", 80
WEB TCP CLIENT REQUEST Query, buff%()
WEB CLOSE TCP CLIENT


He is getting past his NTP so the WiFi is running OK.


"Error: Invalid address - resetting" indicates that you are heading to a cancelled autorun and a softreset
The reason could be anyof these:.
   exception_set_exclusive_handler(HARDFAULT_EXCEPTION,sigbus);
   exception_set_exclusive_handler(SVCALL_EXCEPTION,sigbus);
   exception_set_exclusive_handler(PENDSV_EXCEPTION,sigbus);
   exception_set_exclusive_handler(NMI_EXCEPTION ,sigbus);
   exception_set_exclusive_handler(SYSTICK_EXCEPTION,sigbus);


Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 160
Posted: 08:02pm 05 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

So, I've been running tests for a few days (VB to WM on TCP port 1111 and sending regular packets when a timer fires)

MMbasic ver 5.09.00RC4

As yet, I haven't seen the error code in the subject line crop up... Thanks Peter, maybe it's the last we've seen of that one?  

Still having a lot of random freezes, so just trying to work through some ideas there.

John
 
TassyJim

Guru

Joined: 07/08/2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 5918
Posted: 08:34am 09 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

I have a test device running with no attempts to connect to it.
It suffers from the random CYW43 failures. With the watchdog in service this resulted in reboots.

I have disabled the watchdog and have noticed something interesting.

When the device fails it stops for 4310 seconds and then carries on as if nothing had happened.
It is always 4310 seconds +/- rounding errors.

I don't know of any significance with 4310 seconds. ~72 minutes.

Jim
VK7JH
MMedit   MMBasic Help
 
JohnS
Guru

Joined: 18/11/2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3675
Posted: 12:53pm 09 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  TassyJim said  I don't know of any significance with 4310 seconds. ~72 minutes.

Jim

Just about possibly: 32-bit unsigned 4294967296 so maybe a counter 1000000 per second (i.e. in uS)

Would be 4294 or 4295, though, which is 15 secs or so different.

John
 
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 160
Posted: 05:25am 10 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

  Quote  When the device fails it stops for 4310 seconds and then carries on as if nothing had happened.

An interesting observation Jim. I don't think mine had ever done that, but maybe I never waited long enough to find out. I've had several CYW43 messages in a row as though it was in a loop, but I still had to do a hard reset to clear them.

So far for the last week or so, I've had no CYW43 errors (Maybe Peter's fixed the issue, or it's just not 'the time' for it to happen), but I've had plenty of freeze ups (some fire the W/D, some don't). I haven't made any conclusions on the why's as yet.
I even played with the idea of inserting 'wait-states', like in the old 232 comms to maybe slow things down, just in case the client wasn't as quick as the WebMite.
It didn't work, but it was just an idea  

Still plodding on though  

[Edit] Not sure what the 4310 seconds could mean. Maybe JohnS above is correct?
Edited 2024-05-10 15:27 by Malibu

John
 
Malibu
Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 160
Posted: 07:44am 10 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

There's one thing I haven't been able to understand during my coding and testing...
Consider the following code:

First up, the VB code I'm running that simply 'talks' to the WebMite... (commented, but simple enough to follow)
Option Explicit
Private Declare Function GetTickCount Lib "kernel32" () As Long 'here is the high speed timer

Private HitNum As Double 'count how many packets are sent variable
Private StartTick As Long 'store the tick count value variable

Private Sub Form_Load()
 HitNum = 0 'reset the count variable
End Sub

Private Sub Form_Unload(Cancel As Integer)
 Winsock1.Close 'close the winsock connection
End Sub

Private Sub Timer1_Timer() 'timer function
 Winsock1.Close 'close the winsock
 While Winsock1.State <> 0 'if we haven't closed, loop here until we have
   DoEvents
 Wend
 Winsock1.Connect "192.168.0.114", 1111 'connect to this IP address and port
 StartTick = GetTickCount 'get the start tick
 While Winsock1.State <> 7 'loop until we've actually connected
   Text1.Text = "Connecting..." 'show that it's trying to connect
   DoEvents
 Wend
End Sub

Private Sub Winsock1_Connect() 'connection is established
 HitNum = HitNum + 1 'add to the value
 Winsock1.SendData "VB Hit " & HitNum 'assemble the text and send it
 Text1.Text = "Waiting for reply No. " & HitNum 'show that we're waiting for a reply
End Sub

Private Sub Winsock1_DataArrival(ByVal bytesTotal As Long) 'Something has been received
 Dim RecStr As String
 Winsock1.GetData RecStr 'get what came in
 Text2.Text = "Reply Text - " & RecStr 'show the data received
 Text4.Text = GetTickCount - StartTick 'show the time taken between sending & receiving
End Sub


...and then the WM code I'm running...
Option EXPLICIT
Option DEFAULT NONE
Option autorun on

WEB TCP INTERRUPT WebInterrupt
do
 Watchdog 20000
loop

sub WebInterrupt
 local Integer ConnNum
 local integer ConnData(512)
 for ConnNum = 1 to mm.info(Max Connections)
   longstring clear ConnData()
   web tcp read ConnNum, ConnData()
   if llen(ConnData()) > 0 then
     web tcp Send ConnNum, ConnData()
   end if
   web tcp close ConnNum
 next ConnNum
end sub


So, the VB code send a TCP request at 1 second intervals, the WM receives it and send out the data that came in then displayed in a text box in VB.
Simple enough, and I would think that the 'round trip time' between send and receive would be pretty much the same (within reason...)

But, the round trip time can vary a huge amount. I've seen as low as 12ms and as much as 500ms for the exact same code, running in the same session.

Should the round trip be close to the same, or is there something else going on?

John
 
led-bloon

Senior Member

Joined: 21/12/2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 204
Posted: 08:49pm 10 May 2024
Copy link to clipboard 
Print this post

Try: Limit loop 'ConnNum' to one iteration only
See if there is any changes.
led
Miss you George
 
     Page 2 of 2    
Print this page


To reply to this topic, you need to log in.

© JAQ Software 2024